London Life So Far

As I wander casually through the city of London with nowhere pressing to be, I see more than I ever thought I could. Unique parks filled with happy people in every neighborhood, the rooftops of buildings that have their own story and place in history,  a city complemented by international cultures while maintaining one of its own, opportunities around every corner, and endless exploration. These are only a few reasons why I have fallen in love with London.

Many have asked me “Why would you leave warm and sunny Florida to come to cold and rainy London?” And I follow that question by asking, “Why would you leave your country to go to America?” the answer is always the same—For A Change. A New Experience.

Besides, I’ve never liked Florida weather. There’s a reason why I’ve dipped out of the state and escaped to the mountains of North Carolina and the cities of Europe for the past four summers—-because I hate the heat! So bring on the cold and the snow London! I’m ready for ya…well I will be once my winter wardrobe is complete. Short sleeve knits and lightweight jackets aren’t going to keep this Florida girl too warm during the winter.

In other news, I finally have a closet!

One of the reasons why I haven’t written in a while is because I felt like I was still living out of a suitcase. Traveling around Italy week after week was an incredible experience, but I never felt settled…I never felt like I had a place.

And that’s how I felt the first few weeks in London.  Apart from family and friends, a routine is what I have missed the most about my life in Florida. Though it took some time to adjust to my new life in the city, I have finally eased into a routine of my own. A church I love, a social life, a busy work schedule, a chance to grow into the city lifestyle, and finding time to run around London have become a part of my everyday life now. I finally  have a place here, I finally have a closet.

And I’m bringing the Florida sunshine with me everywhere I go : )

“If nothing ever changed, there’d be no butterflies”

Gorgeous Parks EVERYWHERE! (Regent’s Park)

Amazing musicals and friends!

An incredible city!

Reunions and new friends : )

Categories: All Blog Postings, London | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.